top of page

Bad Week-End in hospital


Unfortunately.. last week-end was BAD, the side effects finally caught up with me...along with the fact I had a sore throat which turned into a raging sore throat which finally gave me a horrible sore throat infection pushing my temperature over 39, during chemo you are not supposed to go over 37.5.

Also out of nowhere I started getting chronic lower back pains like you won't believe...like someone had take a "sledge hammer" to my lower back...LOL not that I know what a sledge hammer to the back feels like...

Anyway I was able to call my friend that over and took me and my daughter to A&E, when there I was given morphine IV for the pain and put onto the ward. I had a lot of people taking bloods and pumping my PICC line full of fluids to try and bring down my temperature as by the time I got to the ward it had gotten up to 39.4, which is NOT very good.

But I will credit everyone there for working so hard to get down my temperature and for helping me get rid of my infection, as it was pretty nasty, even getting into my face (cheeks) and raging there for a while. I was finally released last Tuesday and been slowly but surely making a steady recovery at home.

Turns out the FEC-T Docetaxel (also called Taxotere) was to blame and the fact I had absolutely zero white blood cells to fight the throat infection is what cause my little jaunt in hospital. It's quite scary because even though the chemo is there to help fight the cancer, it is still poison in my bloodstream, my veins, my body at the end of the day, and slowly it attacks everything good in my body at the same time as attacking the cancer...this is something we have to remember to be mindful of....as its not a friendly poison but one of the most aggressive ones out there attacking us mercilessly all the time, until even up to a month after all our chemo treatments have finished.

Hopefully my body will be back up to form for chemo #5 (13th November)...and I will be able to get through the next session a lot better than I did this...but in the end I DID get through this, sure I came out a little bettered and scarred from this one, but I beat it none the less....2 to go...bring it on BIATCHES!!!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page